Subscribe to our newsletter!


* indicates required

Google Plus

You are here


Aubrey on the CILIP Carnegie Longlist

Congratulations to Horatio Clare and Jane Matthews after Aubrey and the Terrible Yoot is named on the 20-stong longlist for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017! 

Up against great competition from the likes of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Philip Reeve and MG Leonard, the Branford Boase winning title continues to shine, with a sequel, Aubrey and the Terrible Ladybirds, due out in May.

Announcing the longlist Tricia Adams, chair of the Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals judging panel, said: 'It is truly a special privilege to be chairing the panel in this historic double anniversary year. The subject matter that emerges from the two lists – stories about refugees, our relationship with the natural world, and living with disability and loss – reflect the very real issues children have to deal with. In turbulent times, we need children’s books to provide a safe space from which to help make sense of the world.'


And President of the Carnegie Kate Arnold said: 'Over the past 80 years, the Carnegie and, latterly, the Kate Greenaway Medal have played a crucial role in highlighting excellence in children’s books. Just as librarians do every day in recommending books to readers at school and in public libraries, the medals act as a guide to exciting new stories, storytellers and artists. This year’s longlists are exceptionally strong, with images and stories that will linger in the imagination long after the last page has been turned.'

The shortlists for both will be announced on 16th March, with the winners being announced on 19th June in central London. The winners will each receive £500 worth of books to donate to their local library, a specially commissioned golden medal and a £5,000 Colin Mears Award cash prize. One title from each of the shortlists will also be named the recipient of the Amnesty CILIP Honour. The prizes are judged by a panel of expert librarians.

The Carnegie Medal, awarded annually, was established in 1936 in memory of the Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie (1835 – 1919) who set up more than 2,800 libraries across the English speaking world. The Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955 for distinguished illustration in a book for children in tribute to the nineteenth century artist known for her children’s illustrations.